The Institute of animal sciences-Kostinbrod was founded in 1950 by the Council of ministers decree №138. According to this decree the then Regional cooperative union and Central experimental station of poultry breeding were annexed as institutes, basis. In 1951 the land of the former stud farm in the village of Bojurishte and later -that of the subsidiaries in Zlatusha, Petrohan and the basis in the town of Loznitsa, Razgrad district, were placed at the Institute of animal sciences disposal.

The first director-founder of the Institute of animal sciences, Kostinbrod was s.r. 1-st degree Ph.D. Yakim Shalichev, who kept this position during the periods 1950-1960 and 1972-1977. The first scientifi c departments were set up in 1955 under his leadership and were as follow: cattle-breeding, sheep-breeding, pig-breeding, poultry-breeding, feeding of farm animals, feed production, economics and organization of the animal breeding, dairying and sericulture.

In 1960 the Institute of animal breeding - Kostinbrod was integrated with the Institute of animal breeding at Bulgarian academy of sciences-led by acad. Hlebarov, who was its founder and director from 1947 up to 1960.

During that early period the institute was set up as a scientifi c-methodical center, which has taken an active part in the elaboration of the basic problems of genetics, breeding, physiology and biochemistry, evolution and ecology of farm animals, selection and technology in rearing of cattle, sheep, horses and technology of roughages and succulent forages. At that time the institute has published “Proceedings” in 19 volumes.

The institute set up its own experimental basis, comprising land, experimental barns, laboratories, storage-accommodations, agricultural technique etc. in order to carry out its research work and to solve general and specifi c problems of the Bulgarian animal breeding.

In 1971 the Institute was integrated with the zootechnical faculty and the Higher Institute of veterinary medicine under the leadership of NEU of cattle-breeding and sheepbreeding. In 1975 the institute was transformed into an independent unit at the Agricultural academy, which existed till 01.01.1976. In 1976 the Institute was integrated within the SPU of cattle and sheep breeding by a Council of ministers decree №6, and since 1980 it has been included once more within the Agricultural academy.

In 2000 the Institute of animal breeding was transformed into Institute of animal sciences- Kostinbrod by a Ministerial council decree № 270. The institute comprised former institutes: Institute of cattle and sheep breeding-Stara Zagora, Institute of poultry breeding, Institute of grain feeds and feed industry-Kostinbrod, Experimental station-Vidin, and Experimental station-Loznitsa. In 2003 the Institute-Stara Zagora, Experimental station-Vidin and experimental base-Loznitsa fell away due to a Ministerial council decree №187 aimed at improving the management of the Institute of animal science.

A great many researchers and specialists have taken part through the stages of its building. Eminent scientists like s.r. Ist degree Yakim Shalichev, acad. Stefan Kumanov, acad. Georgi Hlebarov, prof. Ivan Zahariev, corresponding member prof. Petko Ivanov, have been directors of the institute. Acad. Nikola Platikanov, s.r. Ist degree Yakim Shalichev and s.r. Ist degree D.Sc. Angel Stoyanov have been deputy directors on the scientifi c problems. Senior researcher Ist degree d.sci. Georgi Zdravkov have been scientifi c secretary for more than 20 years. Special merits concerning the build up of the Institute of Animal Sciences through the years of its development, have the leaders of the systems comprising the Institute of animal sciences as their structural unit: acad. Titko Chernokolev, acad. Hristo Daskalov, acad. Kiril Bratanov, acad. Nikola Platikanov, acad. Kunyo Stoev.

Presently there are 127 staff members at the Institute of animal sciences of which 34 researchers, including 4 professors, 14 associated professors and 16 junior researchers IIIrd and Ist degree. Two researchers possess scientifi c degree “Doctor of sciences and 20 - “PhD”.